Reviews

Home from home - Rating 5/5

Another pleasant stay at the Dairy.Clean, comfortable, and the warmest of welcomes with expert local advice.Excellent food too.Highly recommended.We'll be coming back.

Reviewer:George S | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 4 days ago


Highly recommended Guest House - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable guest house, with all conceivable facilities. The breakfasts are excellent quality.The owner is charming and attentive without being intrusive.

Reviewer:Gay M | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 4 days ago


Highly recommended Guest House - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable guest house, with all conceivable facilities. The breakfasts are excellent quality.The owner is charming and attentive without being intrusive.

Reviewer:Gay M | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 5 days ago


Wonderful short break - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful time at Dairy guest house. The room was on ground floor and perfectly adequate for two night stay the newly refurbished wet room was fabulous. The cooked breakfast was delicious. Location was also good a lovely walk into the centre of York approx 15 mins. Plenty of restaurants and bars within 5 mins. Parking with permit a few yards away from the guest house. Mikes hospitality was excellent I am sure we will be visiting again.

Reviewer:Jane S | Sat 29th Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Dairy was extremely enjoyable.The owner made us feel very welcome andthe bedroom/shower room and breakfast couldnot have been better.Well done!

Reviewer:chris peter m | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Enjoyable Stay in York - Rating 4/5

Good, quiet location, walking distance from train station. The house has some original features and a lovely garden. Our room was very clean, with a lovely en-suite bathroom. There are several options for breakfast.

Reviewer:Helena K | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Very convenient location and hospitable owner - Rating 5/5

We would recommend the Dairy Guest House and will book again if we re-visit York. We stayed for two nights and the room was clean and had been recently decorated also with a newly fitted ensuit. It is close to the centre being only 10 - 15 minute walk into town. The breakfast was well presented and nothing was too much trouble. A credit to the owner who was very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Peter H | Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Very convenient location and hospitable owner - Rating 5/5

We would recommend the Dairy Guest House and will book again if we re-visit York. We stayed for two nights and the room was clean and had been recently decorated also with a newly fitted ensuit. It is close to the centre being only 10 - 15 minute walk into town. The breakfast was well presented and nothing was too much trouble. A credit to the owner who was very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Peter H | Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Very clean comfortable room and brand new bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious and Mike an excellent host. Easy walk to old town York and from the train station.

Reviewer:Rachael C | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Another comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at the Dairy before, and always with pleasure.Comfortable, well furnished rooms, excellent showers, good facilities, and very convenient location.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Karen G | Sat 1st Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Dairy Guest House - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly welcome. Perfect location with a short 15 minute walk into York. Very well organised and clean. Beds and pilliws were very comfortable. Lovely breakfast. A lot of thought has gone into this guest house. Would definitely recommend it.I cannot fault it.

Reviewer:Stephen D | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Dairy Guest House Review- Rating 4/5

A very pleasant accommodation, cosy and friendly. Situated in a nice area of York with local shops &cafes. Close to York Centre. Would stay again and recommend friends.

Reviewer:Judy M | Mon 27th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Dairy guest house- Rating 5/5

Wonderful place to stay and just a short walk into town, the b&b is very clean and breakfast was very well managed and very good to eat, I will most definitely be staying here again if I visit York again xx

Reviewer:Jane A | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


lovely guest house great location - Rating 4/5

very friendly staff lovely breakfast , nice outdoor space

Reviewer:Alison H | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Very lovely,clean and friendly guest house. Nice short walk into the city centre for all attractions. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Adele G | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Midweek break - Rating 4/5

Clean, comfortable and quiet stay. Breakfast was top class as was host Mike. A Pleasant 15 min walk to the city center.We would certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Stephen D | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Just Great! - Rating 5/5

House was extremely well cared and cleaned! Amazing hospitality with great full English breakfast (prepared personalized)! Really well located only 10 min walk from all main tourist attractions! Please pay attention to checkin hours as it finishs at 18:00! Really glad we choose this place! Fully recommended!

Reviewer:Rafael Guedes De C | Sun 5th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely stay. - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay here. Lovely room. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast delicious. Would definately stay again. Mike was the perfect host.

Reviewer:susan f | Fri 27th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Wonderful Guest House - Rating 5/5

My second stay at the Dairy Guest House and once again, I couldn't fault it. A lovely welcome from owner Mike. Comfortable room and great breakfast. nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:S H | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Great 2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Four of us enjoyed an excellent 2 night stay.First class accommodation and close to all amenities.Mike is an excellent host and cooks a mighty fine breakfast. No complaints whatsoever.

Reviewer:Mr. MichaelWatson| Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

A well organized and caring owner who has curated his lovely home to the needs of guests.

Reviewer:Brian B | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Lovely and comfortable - Rating 5/5

Perfectly situated walking distance to the city centre, very comfortable beds and good breakfast. Friendly owner, we would have no qualms booking again.

Reviewer:Helen P | Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Birthday present- Rating 5/5

Mike was lovely as was his hospitality nothing was to much trouble very pleasant and pleasing in a nice place 15 minutes from the centre would definitely go back to the dairy guest house

Reviewer:Mary W | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 5 months ago


Ideal - Rating 5/5

Great location, comfortable and clean accommodation.Excellent breakfast;what more can I ask for.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane S | Mon 21st May 2018 | 5 months ago


Home away from home in York - Rating 5/5

This is my second stay here, and the rooms have been recently renovated so have modern and comfortable amenities and decor. Location is convenient and an easy walk to Bishy Road and city and attractions.Michael is a congenial host and made me feel so welcome once again and his poached eggs are second to none.

Reviewer:James B | Sun 20th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

The Dairy is a lovely place to stay , Mike the owner is very friendly and nothing is too much for him to do for you.The food is excellent all locally sourced and cooked to your likening. The Dairy is spotlessly clean with tea and coffeein your room which is very good first thing in a morning.It is ideally located as we like racing and is only a 15 minute walk to the course and about the same to walk into the town centre.There are quite a few bars and restaurants near the Dairy if you do not want to walk far. We stay here all the time when racing it just suits us perfectly .

Reviewer:Sharon C | Sun 20th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Cute clean friendly hotel- Rating 4/5

Cute clean friendly hotel breakfest was excellent owner was very kind . rooms where great very clean would recommend family and friends to stay here and york is a lovely place to visit and celebrate my 21st thanks x

Reviewer:ashleigh c | Wed 16th May 2018 | 5 months ago


York dtay at the dairy guest house - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay great breakfastExcellent host

Reviewer:martin k | Tue 8th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely guest house - Rating 5/5

I stayed here for a weekend. Very clean and comfortable. Mike was very well organised from the moment the booking was made. Parking permit included in price. Breakfast lovely. Smart tv so you can sign into your Netflix account. There is absolutely nothing to fault.

Reviewer:Lorraine M | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


April 2018 visit - Rating 5/5

We had an enjoyable 2 night stay at the Dairy Guest House, the room was excellent and in very clean. The bathroomwasoutstanding. Hospitality was very good as was the breakfast. Would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Dennis B | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Two nights stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean, bright establishment. Very hospital service. Good breakfast what more can you say. Mostenjoyable staywould recommend this place to anyone..

Reviewer:Mrs. Vivienne Z | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Great Accomodation - Rating 5/5

Great Location-within walking distance of City Centre.Room very clean. Excellent breakfast.Host very friendly &welcomingHighly Recommended

Reviewer:Stephen V | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Very enjoyable.- Rating 5/5

The stay was realy enjoyable. Roon very clean, breakfast was very good. Will stay there again.

Reviewer:John S | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 6 months ago


Enjoyable Stay - Rating 5/5

The guest house matched all our expectations room and breakfast excellent

Reviewer:LINDA H | Fri 23rd Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


3 Day Stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed the stay. Room clean and I loIked the walk in shower. Coffee tea water available every day. Cooked breakfast hot and enjoyable.

Reviewer:Alyson M | Tue 20th Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


Comfortable Stay in York - Rating 4/5

We stayed here in late May 2016 and appreciated the location, friendliness of the owner, and good breakfasts. We were able to enjoy a drink on the backyard patio, and we took advantage of the nearby bakery and laundry facility. Only a 10-minute walk to downtown.

Reviewer:Mr. TimJ | Fri 17th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


maison d\'hote dans un style bien anglais - Rating 5/5

Vraiment à ne pas manquer, Mike est une personne charmante et contribue à rendre le séjour à York des plus agréables. Bravo

Reviewer:Bernard B | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Excellent - host, room, breakfast, value for money !

Reviewer:Neil P | Thu 2nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Ab fab - Rating 5/5

This place is absolutely amazing! It's within easy walking distance of the city, and yet I heard absolutely no noise when I was in my room. The facilities were without fault and the breakfast choices were fantastic. Cannot rate it highly enough. I'll definitely be booking in again.

Reviewer:Alison B | Wed 1st Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

Really loved our stay at dairy guest house. Lovely room and fantastic host, thank you Mike. Also the breakfast was sensational.

Reviewer:Alex K | Mon 30th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Dairy Guest House - Rating 5/5

As always, it's a pleasure to stay here. Rooms are comfortable and make the most of the features of this lovely old house. Delicious breakfasts, and welcoming host.

Reviewer:Dr. Victoria C | Mon 30th May 2016 | 2 years ago


great guest house- Rating 5/5

Wonderfull Guest house .10 mins walk centre York .shops and sit in chippy 500yrds ,clean tidy good breakfast ,Mike the owner is chief cook and bottle washer,nothing to much trouble for him ,recommend 100%

Reviewer:Les H | Fri 27th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

First time we have stayed in york.The Dairy Guest House was like home from home the owner Mike could not do enough for us.He is very friendly and his breakfastwas excellent all fresh local products.We have booked to stay again later in the year.

Reviewer:C | Sun 15th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect!!! - Rating 5/5

From booking to check out...... Flawless! Our family room was perfect, bathroom nicer than my own! Filter coffee, squash, filtered water, chocolates and biscuits. Breakfast was really tasty and plentiful! The owner was available and really friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return. Very homely, 20 minute walk from the centre.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lisa B | Mon 9th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Fabulous find - don\'t miss it! - Rating 5/5

We've just come back from a lovely stay at the Dairy Guest House. Our room (no 6) was on the ground floor, across a delightful courtyard garden. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a beautifulmodern large shower room with toiletries supplied including facial/makeup wipes. There was a large walk-in wardrobe/cupboard with lots of room for storage. Our room also had plenty of drawers for storage, a hair drier and even a pack of cards.Our host was very helpful, carrying our bags to our room and giving us a map, and directions, into town which was only a few minutes walk away. Breakfast (ordered the previous day) was delicious and freshly cooked.The free WIFI was fast and the room had a TV with loads of channels.Our host arranged a parking voucher for us (on-street parking is very limited without one), and it was easy to park just a few yards from the guest house.All in all, a great find, we would most certainly recommend it and would stay there again when we go back to York.

Reviewer:Jean C | Mon 9th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic. - Rating 5/5

Made to feel very welcome, The room was fantastic. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewer:Donna M | Wed 4th May 2016 | 2 years ago


First time to York - Rating 5/5

Fantastic trip from start to finish! The Dairy is a lovely little place located just minutes from the city centre, with plenty of local amenities. Mike the owner was very welcoming &provided us with a superb breakfast. The room was warm &clean with a top notch ensuite. Will be back again, would recommend this place to all!

Reviewer:Nicholas K | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent ! - Rating 5/5

We really appreciate our stay. The Dairy guest house benefits of an excellent location, room is spacious and very comfortable, breakfast is great, and Mike is really taking care of his guets. We highly recommand!

Reviewer:FRANCOIS F | Sun 1st May 2016 | 2 years ago


short stay - Rating 5/5

Everything fine, nice to be able to book somewhere with 2 single beds as was travelling with my nearly grown up son.

Reviewer:Jacqueline C | Mon 25th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Dairy Guesthouse Visit - April 2016 - Rating 5/5

I stayed here for 3 nights and part of an 8 day trip through England and in terms of accommodation this was by far the high point. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the features, door trims and decor made it a great place to spend time in. The host, Mike, looks after all your needs and cooks an excellent breakfast, while the location is very easily accessible to both the old town and the railway stations. I would not hesitate to return here on my next visit to York

Reviewer:Norman M | Mon 25th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


A york Gemstone- Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Dairy. Clean, comfy &quite. Deco was lovely and shower was fab, cooked breakfast was lovely too. Yes we would stay again. Thank you mike x

Reviewer:Christine P | Mon 11th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Welcome break - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend break in the delightful surroundings of Dairy Guesthouse. It was so clean, comfortable and welcoming and surprisingly well situated for exploring the city. The breakfast was delicious and there was everything we needed in our room.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony P | Mon 11th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


short break - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 3 nights with my 12 year old son. Very close to train station and centre of York. Found Dairy Guest House very clean and host very welcoming. Room spotless and very quiet. Excellent breakfasts. Would recommend and certainly will return.

Reviewer:Pam M | Fri 8th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Long week end - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay at this guest house.Lovely comfortable room and excellent breakfast.Lots of tourist info to hand and the owner happy to help with directions and places to visit. Very central location - easy to walk to town on the historic city wall.

Reviewer:Karin C | Mon 4th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Cosy Guesthouse in Walking Distance to the City Centre - Rating 5/5

I had a fantastic weekend stay. Room was marvellous, breakfast excellent. I enjoyed the hospitality and friendly atmosphere.

Reviewer:Egon K | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Easter break - Rating 5/5

We have just spent the easter week end in the Dairy Guesthouse. It was terriffic. Clean and very friendly,breakfast excellent. Would stay again on our next trip. Mike was a star host

Reviewer:Anne K | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Short break- Rating 5/5

Stayed here over 2 nights. Very comfortable and quiet. Situated short walk to centre.Breakfast lovely especially the poached eggs. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Helen A | Sun 27th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


comfortable room and friendly proprietor - Rating 5/5

I stayed on my own in the guest house for two nights whilst visiting family, I felt very welcome as a lone traveller. Plus the owner was very friendly and made an effort to talk to me each morning which I appreciated. The room was well equipped,and had quaint, vintage style furnishings - very to my taste! The pillows were slightly too hard for me but that is a minor complaint in the grand scheme of things!

Reviewer:Emma D | Thu 24th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


nice place - Rating 4/5

Place was nice , the owner was very good

Reviewer:Dean W | Mon 22nd Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Dairy b&b - Rating 5/5

Great location for a visit to York.Very friendly host and a superb breakfast.Would have no hesitation inrecommending to friends and would also use again

Reviewer:David L | Fri 18th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Great house in excellent location. - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay &will certainly book again when we next visit York.Mike is a terrific host and provides good value B&B.Love the award winning high street nearby.

Reviewer:Pamela H | Fri 11th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Enjoyable stay in York. - Rating 5/5

Great stay in this delightful house, with a super host in Mike.Delicious breakfast &tastefully decorated accommodation.Just up our street!Thank you

Reviewer:Pamela H | Thu 10th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Short stay- Rating 5/5

Was very nice, owner very friendly &willing to help. Room was clean &comfortable. Breakfast was good &had a good selection. Location was good, short walk from station &to the centre of York. Would recommend this guest house

Reviewer:Pollyanna W | Mon 7th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Convenient location just outside the City walls - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay with Mike at Dairy Guesthouse. The room was well cleaned by a cheery housekeeper.Breakfast was excellent. Over 2 days I went for the full English and smoked haddock options. Both were tasty and well presented.My small grievance would be the low water pressure from the over bath shower. Having said that I understand that room 3 is the next for a refurb so maybe this will improve. It wasn't a big negative anyway.We would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark E | Mon 7th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Excellent location. Just outside city wall. Perfect host. Clean warm comfortable rooms. Excellent tea tray so much choice. Fresh water in room each day. Then there was breakfast again this was perfect. My mum and I both loved it and would stay again. Thanks for a perfect treat for my mum. Julia

Reviewer:Julia D | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Loveley room,great service

Reviewer:Mr. Andy E | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Great place to stay :) - Rating 5/5

Brilliantly situated for a quick walk totown. A friendly place and very clean. There were lots of thoughtful touches to make it a pleasant stay. Thanks :)

Reviewer:Julie I | Mon 23rd Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Comfortable and cosy stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed here with my adult sons. It is a great location in a local community with local shops and places to eat. It is a 12 minute walk into York and to the station so you can park and forget your car. A car parking pass is provided on request.Good breakfast provided and room was warm and cosy with very comfortable beds. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dianne S | Tue 17th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Great guest house - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay friendly clean and great breakfast

Reviewer:Kyan H | Mon 16th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

2nd visit of the year and once again made to feel so welcome we arrived at 10:30 on friday morning mike took our bags and issued me with my parking permit so myself and wife had a full day which we didnt get last october at a differnt guest house the room room 4 had just been refurbished and was done to a high standard as for the large walk in shower which replaced the bath was well worth using the breakfast was superb enough to keep you going all day we look forward to seeing you next year.

Reviewer:David G | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Guest House - Rating 4/5

Very nice, clean, spacious, and lovely meals.

Reviewer:Mr. GARY B | Sun 1st Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Great B&B. Comfortable room, spacious bathroom and a delicious full English breakfast.I would recommend this b&b. Plus only a ten minute walk to York Dungeons!

Reviewer:Matthew D | Sat 31st Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Nicely refurbished, well-equipped although slightly cramped family room. Excellent breakfast, pleasant and helpful host and staff. Good location for town centre.

Reviewer:Mike R | Mon 26th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Excellent Guest House - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts. Just a 10-15 minute walk into town. Very friendly reception. Some excellent restaurants nearby. Recommended.

Reviewer:Roger P | Sun 25th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Quiet and comfortable - Rating 4/5

The guesthouse lies within walking distance of the town centre and the train station. The room was comfortable and quiet. Good wifi connection, good vegetarian breakfast. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Peter R | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Real ale trail. - Rating 5/5

This is not the first time we have stayed at the Dairy,and hopefully not the last.friendly,helpful and a great location, not to near and not to far.And good breakfast to boot.

Reviewer:Stephen W | Wed 26th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Great stay at the dairy - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely few days in York staying at the Dairy Guest House. Mike the owner could not of been nicer and more welcoming. Breakfast was lovely and my daughter and I both slept really well. York is a beautiful city with lots to do and see. We packed our trip with lots to do but still have lots of things on our to do list so will be back and will be staying at the Dairy when we do.

Reviewer:Sue D | Thu 13th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


our stay at the Dairy ,hotel,york - Rating 4/5

Little quiet guest house ,ten mins walk from centre York.oldy worldy,very pleasant and comfortable... Host very friendly and hospitable, good choices for breakfast, also vegetarian ,and vegan catered for.car parking available just up the road with parking permit for car... Very enjoyable

Reviewer:D | Sat 8th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Home Sweet Home - Rating 4/5

What a charming stay! Loved the neighborhood, very quiet at night, Mike's cooking was delicious and our room was cozy but comfy. Found out our room is being remodeled which will make it much nicer.We'll come back and check it out!! :)

Reviewer:Hailey O | Tue 23rd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Pleasant and quiet- Rating 5/5

A brief stay but a pleasant one, Mike was very accommodating and welcoming and the room and breakfast were excellent. Definitely stay again.

Reviewer:MarkW | Thu 18th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Fabulous Guesthouse in York - Rating 5/5

I loved staying at the Dairy Guesthouse in York. The manager was very friendly and welcoming, the accommodation clean and neat with unexpected extras ,such as complimentary bottle of water, hot chocolate, cookies and chocolates in the room. The breakfasts were delicious and filling;very informal and relaxed. The guesthouse was also well situated, being in walking distance from York and York's wall.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sheena M | Wed 10th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


A day at the Races - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stopped at the Dairy and it won't be the last.A most enjoyable weekend away, lovely room.

Reviewer:Stephen W | Tue 2nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


A relaxing base within a short walk to all the attractions that York has to offer. - Rating 5/5

A charming B&B located just a short walk from the City centre, and the added bonus of free parking was really good.Nice clean rooms with comfortable beds and a great breakfast, Michael and his lovely wife made us feel so at home, highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael D | Fri 29th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay in a good location to city centre and attractions - Mike is a great host - very helpful with any requests - room was clean, roomy and quiet - parking was free via permit - would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others

Reviewer:Mr. Peter S | Mon 25th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Delightful Dairy! - Rating 5/5

Was delighted with stay at The Dairy Guest House - it was all I had read about - but experiencing was better - super host in Mike, relaxing atmosphere, peaceful courtyard, lovely breakfast, good restaurants and coffee shops nearby and all the medieval history of York at the end of the street - just the best!!!

Reviewer:Shauna S | Fri 22nd May 2015 | 3 years ago


lovely b&b - Rating 4/5

Had such a lovely 2 night stay at the dairy guest house. Room was lovely and clean but the shower was a bit small. Breakfast both morning's wasreally enjoyable. Location is also great with the city centre within 10 mins walking distance.Would definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Rachel E | Mon 18th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Highly recommend - Rating 5/5

Great location, extremely clean comfortable room, breakfast was excellent. Mike was a great host, very welcoming. Will certainly stay again

Reviewer:Debra L | Mon 11th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Very Nice place - Rating 5/5

Nice breakfast, very friendly place to stayBeds comfy &Cosybottled water in the room with a corkscrew &wine glasses nice touchThank you will stay again

Reviewer:Miriam C | Tue 5th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Welcoming - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome on arrival, room very comfortable and breakfast was wonderful.Nothing too much trouble and will definitely stay here again when in York.Location good, 15 mins walk into town centre

Reviewer:Sue F | Wed 22nd Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Quaint, friendly and perfect! - Rating 5/5

We opted for this guest house after reading the numerous great reviews about it and it did not disappoint. Before we even arrived in York, a number of emails had been exchanged between myself and the proprietor, Mike, regarding check-in procedures and I was provided with extremely detailed instructions on what to do on arrival. Once I accessed the building and proceeded to my room, I found my parking permit for outside the guest house, an information pack and a menu for breakfast on which we had to indicate our choice and leave in the dining room for the next day - that's efficiency at its best! The room (with four poster bed) was very cosy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was lovely too, served by Mike and his wife who couldn't have been more friendly. The location of this guest house is ideal, at just a 10-15 minute walk from the city and there is no need to worry about your car as it is parked safely for he duration of your stay. A very pleasant experience all round, highly recommended.

Reviewer:Sophie M | Fri 17th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Dairy guest house york - Rating 5/5

Lovely b and b .breakfast great ,accomodation excellent ,and good location to shops Thanx hope to be back soon

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew F | Thu 16th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent B and B - Rating 5/5

Excellent location. 10 minute stroll into York Even though on a main road it was lovely and quiet. Excellent host nothing was too much trouble. Fresh water every day in room which was a lovely touch hot water bottle lovely idea breakfast was delicious. Well worth the money and would certainly stay again. Thank you for a lovely stay

Reviewer:Sarah G | Mon 6th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Wedding anniversary 23 years - Rating 5/5

On arrival we were made to feel so welcome we arrived at 10:30 mike was waiting with the parking permit he then proceeded to check us in the room was excellent the location of the the guesthouse was superb only 10 minutes was walk from city center the breakfast was sufficient we have stopped in a 4 star guest house before and there was more on offer i suppose if asked more toast and coffee could have been available but none extra was offered but all in all i would recomend this guest house

Reviewer:David G | Mon 6th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Good location - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for 2 nights, first impressions were ok. Yes it is dated but that adds to the charm. Its in a good location you can walk into York in about 10 mins. The owner was nice and friendly and breakfast was lovely. We would stay here again.

Reviewer:Liz L | Wed 1st Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Great location, service and breakfast! - Rating 5/5

This place is perfectly located just out of the city centre and offers everything you need for an overnight stay. Comfy, scacious room and fantastic breakfast with choices for all dietry needs. Would recommend to other and would definately stay here again!

Reviewer:Miss. Lisa S | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Dairy Guest House - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay at Dairy Guesthouse, very comfortable quiet room, excellent breakfast and helpful friendly host. Hope to be back there soon.

Reviewer:Rosaleen W | Tue 10th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


A lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Everything was perfect for our stay at Dairy Guesthouse:very warm welcome, lovely room, the free parking permit. The breakfast was great and it was a pleasant 10 minute stroll into town.

Reviewer:JOHN D | Mon 2nd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


5 Star Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

I've really enjoyed my 4 night stay at Dairy Guesthouse.Mike was very welcoming.My room was a good size, warm, very clean and the bed was comfy.The breakfasts were well presented, tasty and I had lots of menu options to choose from.The chocolates were a nice touch.I would definitely recommend this Guesthouse.

Reviewer:Nicola R | Fri 27th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Brilliant location - Rating 5/5

This guest house is in a brilliant location a short walk from York's historic wall and some attractions.Room small but well equipped and clean.Nice breakfast, owner helpful.We got a parking permit, requested at time of booking. Parking is difficult, only a few spaces available. Road works when we were there so even more restricted.

Reviewer:Nicola R | Fri 27th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


4 poster - Rating 4/5

We stayed in the "King size 4 poster"room for several nights. The room overlooked the road but the secondary glazing kept most of the noise out and we were not bothered by traffic noise. The room was only just big enough for the 4 poster bed but that was not a problem. The ensuite had been built into the corner of the room and was a little cramped but clean. The water in the shower was a bit slow to drain away. The welcome was friendly and the service good. Good breakfasts made with good quality ingredients.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosalind H | Sun 14th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Great stay at Dairy Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my stay very much, thank you!

Reviewer:Nikolai E | Sat 29th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay with you, the Dairy Guest House was welcoming and friendly, clean and tidy. The breakfasts you serve are delicious :-) the rooms were comfortable and clean. We would definitely stay with you again and reccomend you to our friends and family. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Rob P | Thu 27th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Dairy Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

A lovely home away from home!

Reviewer:Kathleen S | Wed 19th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Good for city break - Rating 4/5

The guest house was clean and comfortable and the hosts were welcoming.The room was a good size, with good facilities.The room was quiet.We liked the short and pleasant walk into town and the free parking.

Reviewer:Peter S | Tue 18th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Dairy Guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room, very hospitable welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were excellent. The guest house is ideally situated no more than 10 minutes stroll from the city centre. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Paul M | Fri 7th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


weeks stay - Rating 5/5

good room ..good food...excelent service..no complaints

Reviewer:Bryan E | Thu 6th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


An excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

The room was a good size almost all the comforts of home the breakfast was delicious the host and hostess were lovely ppl and the location was quite. The town was about 10 mins walk away with lots of thing to do to interest everyone from a market to all kinds of shops to museums and restaurants in all could not hoped for a better Holliday a guest house I'd recommend to anyone

Reviewer:Margaret K | Mon 3rd Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Pleasant time - Rating 4/5

On arrival we were greeted promptly and car permit sorted.We had a very pleasant stay and it was very comfortable,and situated close to town and all amenities.Will be staying again next time we are in york.

Reviewer:Richard M | Mon 20th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


a gem - Rating 5/5

had a long weekend at York and stayed at the Dairy Guest House, what a gem of a find, comfortable,homely and very helpful. Great location definately will return.

Reviewer:JEAN P | Tue 14th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Good Welcoming Place - Rating 4/5

Our room was lovely and quiet on a charming courtyard gardened with window boxes and plants in beautiful colours.Breakfast very tasty andwell organised, prompt service.An easy walk to York city walls.

Reviewer:Jo M | Mon 13th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant stay at The Dairy Guesthouse in York. The owner welcomed us warmly although we were way early. The beds were fine and so was the breakfast. When we will come back to York, we surely will stay in the Dairy Guesthouse again. My children would like to add that the free wifi was great!

Reviewer:Mr. Arjan Van Der M | Sun 12th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Very helpful and friendly, excellent rooms and very close to town centre and train station. definitely going back next year

Reviewer:Lee B | Tue 31st Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Brilliant Trip - Rating 4/5

Lovely accommodation, very homely, nice n clean all way through. Owners friendly n helpful. Nice breakfast n thought the little extra touchs like bottled water n chocolates very nice. Accomodation central 4 both the races n York centre which is what we came for. Also, really enjoyed the Olive Tree which you kindly recommended in your guide which was another helpful guide for us. Thankyou for everything &we'll definately return if go to York again.

Reviewer:Miss. Laura A | Mon 30th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Dairy Guesthouse - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable stay with good comfortable bed.Breakfast was very tasty and well presented.On street parking was very close and easy to access.

Reviewer:Andrew L | Tue 24th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Pleasant B&B - Rating 4/5

This was a lovely B&B with friendly owners in an excellent location near to the centre of York. Fab brekkie!

Reviewer:Ms. Jodi D | Mon 16th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Great location and value - Rating 5/5

Perfect for walking into York, but off to the side enough to be affordable.

Reviewer:Robert H | Sun 8th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful welcome. Very cleantidy room with four poster bed. Lovely breakfast with a choice to suit all. Very easy access to city, about a 10 min. stroll.

Reviewer:Richard H | Thu 28th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Homish - Rating 4/5

Friendly, quiet and cheerful like a home

Reviewer:Bita M | Fri 22nd Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Great !!!! - Rating 5/5

I have been at Diary Guest House for one weekend and it is a lovely and dearly place. It is like visiting your family :) The staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are really clean and the breakfast is glorius. I would everybody recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Lisa W | Mon 18th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


An excellent base - Rating 4/5

Ideally situated for exploring York and the surrounding area. Accomodation and breakfast good in terms of quality and value for money

Reviewer:Richard R | Tue 29th May 2012 | 6 years ago


nice guest house - Rating 4/5

the host is nice and the breakfast is great!just 5-10 mins walk to city centre and train station!

Reviewer:Chi Ting Carol L | Tue 29th May 2012 | 6 years ago


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Stopped here 2 nights . Hosts were really helpful and nothing was a bother. Stopped in the 4 poster room and the bed was so comfortable. Room was lovely. The breakfast was good and plenty of choice and could be changed to whatever you wanted. Would definitely stop here again. :-)

Reviewer:Andrea H | Mon 28th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Beautiful guest home with character - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodations, easy walk to the old city. Great breakfast and very pleasant environment.

Reviewer:Barbara H | Thu 24th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Very nice - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay in a comfortable room with lovely breakfast. Great location very close to city walls. We would def stay again

Reviewer:Gill Z | Tue 8th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Best B&B in York I stayed in - Rating 4/5

It's a quirky place, distributed over two buildings. The breakfast is more or less what you can expect from a B&B. Nothing fancy, but well done. Room was large and comfy. Only reason I didn't give it all five is the shower. It is one of those run through electrical water heaters next to the shower typical in many English homes. The throughput is not big enough to provide a really nice shower, but it's good enough and as I said not out of the ordinary (I've seen better and worse).In York (thinking of it, make that in England) it was so far the best B&B I stayed in (so far 3) and very good value for money.

Reviewer:Stefan P | Tue 17th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Dairy Guesthouse - Rating 4/5

Great bb for my family , owners were lovely breakfast great and near centre of town would stay again, thanks

Reviewer:Susan F | Sat 14th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Recommended Stay - Rating 4/5

We found our stay very pleasant and we were well looked after by pleasant staff. The room was clean and the food was very good.

Reviewer:Mr. Glenn G | Mon 19th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely room - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming, lovely room and breakfast. would stay there again.

Reviewer:Kate M | Thu 1st Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Feb Visit - Rating 4/5

Really lovely guesthouse - and very friendly and helpful owners.

Reviewer:Mr. Dominic W | Thu 23rd Feb 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent Host - Rating 5/5

The service and hospitality I enjoyed while at Dairy Guest House was outstanding.Really comfortable bed and room.Wonderful breakfast and very accommodating host.Highly recommended.Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew B | Sun 8th Jan 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent All Round - Rating 5/5

From ariving at the Dairy Guest House, to leaving, everything was fantastic.This small guest house is run with care and attention and they owners will accomodate any request.Food excellent and rooms of a very high quality.

Reviewer:Mr. Gavin B | Sat 31st Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


dairy guest house york - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed at the dairy guest house and found our hosts and stay very pleasent. It is great value for money and we will definatly be staying there again.The only negative we have found is that we would prefer continetal quilts on the bed rather than blankets but other than that excellent!!The breakfasts are lovely and the rooms characterful and comfortable.Happy new year to all at the Dairy xx

Reviewer:Mrs. Alyson B | Thu 29th Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


Xmas Family Stay - Rating 4/5

We had a brilliant time when we stayed.The Dairy isn't far from York City Centre so had some nice little walks, also the No 7 bus to the Designer Outlet is just at the bottom of the street.Family room is basic but clean and tidy a very good size, everything you need for your stay.If something isn't there you only have to ask as the owners are lovely, friendly people.

Reviewer:Mrs. Deborah M | Thu 22nd Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


Everything thought of - Rating 5/5

Great attention to detail - everything been thought of and very friendly

Reviewer:Ms. Julie M | Tue 29th Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 4/5

We were made to very welcome from theminute we walked in the door.Our host's could not be more helpful.Our room was very comfortable and clean and the full english breakfast was very tasty and filling. The location for us was perfect as it was only a ten minute walk into York. We stayed two nights and had a wonderful break, we would certainly recommend for all ages

Reviewer:Miss. Michelle C | Thu 24th Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


Great time - Rating 5/5

Thank you so much, we had a lovely time, great touches in the room and a very nice breakfast, we will be back

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah J | Wed 9th Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


Our Stay at the Dairy - Rating 5/5

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend in York and were so pleased with our decision to choose Dairy Guesthouse and a base for our trip.Peaceful, comfortable, never felt intruded upon, amazing breakfast (especially those sausages), Great location, and brilliant value for money!

Reviewer:Mrs. Maureen M | Mon 7th Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


great location and amenity - Rating 4/5

This guesthouse was fabulous with spacious room and amenity and lovely breakfast. The location is great for exploring York on foot which we loved doing. Strongly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mhairi F | Thu 3rd Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


does what it says on the tin! - Rating 4/5

The booking process was easy and efficient. Our welcome was nice and informative. Our room was sufficient for our needs, very warm and cosy.Breakfast was good and made to order. The location was a 10-15 minute walk away from the centre, with two small children. Free parking close to the guesthouse was a definite bonus. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Claudia S | Sun 30th Oct 2011 | 6 years ago


great weekend - Rating 5/5

This is a great friendly guest house. The room was clean and tidy. the breakfast was A1 with a choice of cereals, fruit juices and then a full english to finish. Just a 5 min walk from the castle area of York makes this an ideal place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Phil L | Mon 24th Oct 2011 | 6 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

very reasonably priced and very friendly owner. will definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Miss. Sara A | Sun 16th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent!- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, quiet and clean room and fantastic breakfast!

Reviewer:Dr. Matthew G | Mon 3rd Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


good all round - Rating 4/5

We found the Dairy Guest House comfortable and very convenient for the town (15 min walk). Breakfasts were excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosemary A | Sun 25th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Very convenient for york - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful couple everything is in walking distance nice comfortable room will definetly visit again

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela R | Sat 24th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Nice and quiet - Rating 4/5

We had a lovley stay at York!

Reviewer:Mrs. Karin H | Mon 22nd Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Nice and quiet - Rating 4/5

We had a lovley stay at York!

Reviewer:Mrs. Karin H | Mon 22nd Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 4/5

Friendly and nice host with everything convenient for 1 night stay :).Would highly recommended Dairy Guesthouse

Reviewer:Miss. Thao L | Sun 21st Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


DGH Review - Rating 5/5

Everything went perfectly, I had a very nice stay.

Reviewer:Miss. Christine G | Tue 9th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay, warm welcome, good breakfast, very clean, close to the city centre, parking space, free wi-fi connection, in short almost perfect (room just a bit small).

Reviewer:Mr. Laurent D | Mon 1st Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


One night in York - Rating 4/5

Clean, comfortable room, excellent breakfast and very convenient for York City Centre. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian F | Tue 19th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


4.7
Very Good

150 reviews

5
70%
4
30%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%